Criminal Defense Attorneys
More than one million residents have suspended driver’s licenses in California. In 2016, California passed a law that prohibited criminal and traffic courts from suspending a resident’s driver’s license for failure to pay fines. Since then, more than 400,000 residents have had their licenses restored. But there continue to be a litany of others who have yet to get their license restored. Often, you won’t know that you’re driving on a suspended license until a police officer pulls you over. Once you discover that your license is suspended, contact The Justice Firm to speak with our knowledgeable suspended license lawyers.
Los Angeles Crimes Frequently Associated With Driver’s License Suspension
Before you take steps to get your license restored, you should know why the Department of Motor Vehicles suspended your license. The reason behind the suspension affects the length of that suspension and how you should go about clearing your record. Certain Los Angeles crimes and traffic violations result in the DMV revoking your driving privileges—and bear in mind that driving is a privilege, not a right.
Driving Without Insurance
The law requires that all drivers have automobile insurance. If an officer catches you driving without insurance, the DMV may suspend your license. If you’re in a car accident and it turns out that you’re uninsured, the DMV will suspend your driver’s license.
Behind On Child Support
Not all licenses are suspended for vehicle-related indiscretions. It may come as a surprise to you that being behind in child support can result in a driver’s license suspension, but it can. If your court-ordered child support payment is late, then the Department of Child Support Services can turn in your name to the DMV for license suspension. Once this happens, DMV will send a warning letter informing you that you have 150 days to arrange to get current on child support. If you don’t, the DMV suspends your license.
Lastly, a conviction of any alcohol-related crime will result in a license suspension. These include driving under the influence, distributing alcohol to a minor, drinking while underage, and having alcohol while under 21 and in a vehicle. The DMV can temporarily suspend your license following your arrest before a conviction is secured. You may request to drive on a restricted driver’s license if the DMV suspends your license before conviction. If they grant your request, you’ll pay to install an Ignition Interlock Device (i.e., IID) onto your driver’s side door, and this will permit you to drive to work, school, and any mandatory alcohol-educational courses.
Reinstating Your Driver’s License
It’s important that you get your driver’s license reinstated. Having a valid driver’s license is essential to accomplishing most daily aspects of your life, such as driving to work, dropping your kids off at school, or going to the grocery store. Not having a license can add undue stress to your life. It can even be a hindrance to your work and education goals. Not to mention, if an officer catches you driving on a suspended license, then you’re subject to more fines and penalties, including a lengthier suspension or revocation.
Generally, the suspension period must pass. Then, you must pay the $125 reinstatement fee. You must provide proof of having completed any court-ordered courses regarding why your license was suspended and show proof of car insurance.
Contact A Skilled Los Angeles Criminal Defense Lawyer
If your driver’s license is suspended, it’s a great inconvenience. Our knowledgeable Los Angeles license suspension lawyers are here to help. For your convenience, we offer a 24/7 live answering service. You may call us toll-free at 866-695-6714 or locally at 310-914-2444. You may also fill out our contact form here to schedule a free consultation. If you have further questions or concerns, please feel free to peruse our list of unsurpassed lawyers.