Criminal Defense Firm Representing Clients Accused of Manslaughter in Los Angeles, Ventura, Orange, Riverside, and San Bernardino Counties in California
Manslaughter is a very serious crime in the state of California, and while a less serious offense than murder, one that leaves those convicted facing serious criminal penalties. At The Justice Firm, our Los Angeles manslaughter defense lawyers are dedicated to providing individuals arrested or charged with this homicide offense with a strong, effective defense. We understand that there are times innocent people are accused of manslaughter; even if you are guilty, you have legal rights which must be protected. Prosecutors must prove your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt, something that is not easily accomplished.
Pursuant to Penal Code section 192(a), voluntary manslaughter involves killing another individual in the heat of passion in an intentional manner. The difference between murder and manslaughter is that there is no premeditation required for an individual to be charged with manslaughter. Penal Code section 192(b) defines involuntary manslaughter as the unintentional killing of another individual. Vehicular manslaughter is highly common, and occurs when someone loses their life because of reckless driving. Regardless of which offense you have been accused of, it is critical to consult with a highly skilled Los Angeles manslaughter attorney at once.
Penalties for Manslaughter in California
The criminal penalties you may face if convicted of manslaughter in California depend on the specific offense you were charged with and other factors, including past criminal history.
- Voluntary manslaughter incurs penalties which include fines of up to $10,000, three, six, or eleven years in state prison, community service, counseling services, and a potential strike on your record. Pursuant to Penal Code 29800 PC, you may also lose your right to possess or own a firearm.
- If convicted of involuntary manslaughter, defendant's may face two, three, or four years in California state prison, or formal probation with up to one year in county jail. Other penalties may include a $10,000 fine, and loss of firearm ownership or possession rights pursuant to Penal Code 29800 PC. Those who hold professional licenses may also face professional discipline.
- The penalties a defendant may face if convicted of vehicular manslaughter depend the facts of your case, criminal history, and whether drugs or alcohol were involved. If no drugs or alcohol were involved, defendant's face up to one year in jail if convicted of a misdemeanor offense. A felony conviction may result in up to ten years in state prison.
It is important to note there are many offenses classified as vehicular manslaughter, including vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated, gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated, and Watson murder, or second-degree DUI murder. Our criminal defense attorneys will enlighten you regarding the various offenses and criminal penalties which may apply.
Contact The Justice Firm Immediately
It is imperative that you take quick action when charged with a manslaughter offense. Even if you have been arrested or are under investigation, it is recommended you speak with an aggressive defense lawyer. In some situations it may be possible to prevent filing of charges, or to have charges reduced through a plea agreement with prosecutors. Contact The Justice Firm now at (310)914-2444 for unsurpassed legal guidance and representation.